F.B.I. – bad deal (1976)

F.B.I. stood for Funky Bands Inc and were a UK-based outfit that operated between 1974 and 1978. They were a 9-piece band with two lead vocalists, one female (Bonnie Wilkinson) and one male (Root Jackson).
They were formed by Root and trumpeter Herscel Holder, who is probably the primary inspiration behind the brassy Tower of Power horny horns that drive many of the funk-powered tracks. Apparently, they were originally ‘thrown together’ as ‘Bakel’ to back Eddie Floyd with just 5 hours for rehearsal.
They went on to perform as backing band for the likes of Ben E King and Percy Sledge before deciding to make a go of it in their own right. The remainder of the band included Jaime Black (guitar, flute), Lloyd Smith (sax), Lennox Meade (bass), Raffi Pereira (guitar), Alan Fealdman (keys), and Stephen Dixon (drums).


Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *